Indian Premier League (IPL)

Indian Premier League is a professional Twenty20 cricket league conducted by 8 teams representing 8 Indian cities. It was founded by the BCCI(Board of Cricket Control of India) in 2007. Usually, from its very beginning, it was held in the months of March to May. Its first edition was 2008 and the latest is 2001. The tournament format is round-robin and playoffs.

IPL was founded in 2007 and the funding was provided by Zee Entertainment Enterprises. After India's victory in the year 2007 T20 World Cup, BCCI decided to conduct a franchise-based Twenty20 cricket competition called Indian Premier League.

The first season commenced in April 2008 in a high-profile ceremony. The organization head and vice president of BCCI Lalit Modi finally declared the details of the whole tournament including its format, prize money, and franchise revenue, squad competition rules.

A unique system was framed where it was decided that IPL would be governed by a seven-man governing council which would compose of former Indian players and BCCI officials.  

So in order to decide the owners for the new league, an auction was initiated on 24th January 2008 with the total base price of the franchise costing around 400$. Finally, the winning bidders have announced as well as the cities on which the teams would be based include: Bangalore, Kolkata, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Mohali, and Mumbai.

Whereas on the other hand Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala joined the league before the conducting of the 4th season in the year 2011. Unfortunately after one year on 11th November 2011, it was announced that the Kochi Tuskers Kerala was terminated for disagreeing with the terms and conditions of IPL. Similarly team Deccan Chargers were terminated on 14th September 2012 for not being controlled by an established owner. 

Even Pune Warriors withdrew its participation from IPL on 21st May 2013 due to some financial differences. While Sun TV Network after winning the bid for the Hyderabad franchise named it Sun Risers Hyderabad.

The tournament had faced dark sides as well when Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals had been suspended on the accusations of match-fixing. They were replaced by Pune and Rajkot in time thereafter.

Speaking of the rules of organization of IPL a team can acquire through any of the three ways the annual player auction, trading players with. The updated rules according to the year 2020 includes -

The squad strength must be between 18 to 25 players with a maximum of 8 overseas players.

The salary capital of each squad must not exceed Rs 850 million.

Under-19 players cannot be picked unless they have previously played first-class or List A cricket.

A team can play a maximum of 4 overseas players in their playing.

There is no confined time limit in which teams must complete their innings. Since 2018 the umpire review system has emerged. The IPL has grown due to its fantastic broadcasting techniques. Initially, the partnership was held by Sony Pictures Network and World Sports Group. In 2016 Sony MAX, Sony SIX, and Sony ESPN served as the domestic broadcasters of the IPL. In the same year, Sony broadcasters gained high popularity of 1 billion viewership. 

On 4th September 2017, it was announced that Star India had acquired global media rights. Now Star broadcasts IPL matches live online in India via its various online platforms like Disney+Hotstar VIP or Disney+Hotstar premium. Matches can also be viewed on JioSavan and Airtel TV.

IPL is the most-watched league and attains a high ranking among all the sports leagues. In 2010 it became the first sporting event to be featured live on YouTube. According to BCCI 2015, IPL season contributed 11.5 billion to the GDP of the Indian economy. The venue has been shifted to the United Arab Emirates in 2020 due to the rising Covid 19 cases.

BY - 

Sirsha Ganguly

Payal Chowdhury

Post a Comment